Heritage Earns 2017-2018 IHSAA Sportsmanship Award

December 11, 2018


We are proud to announce that Heritage was honored as a recipient of the IHSAA’s Sportsmanship Award for the 2017-2018 school year. Heritage is one of only 45 schools throughout the state who received this award. With over 400 IHSAA member schools in Indiana, Heritage part of only about 10% who received the honor.

Each school begins the year with 100 sportsmanship points. Points can be deducted throughout the year for negative conduct, such as ejections, and points can be earned when the IHSAA receives positive information about schools, such as email from fans and officials. Heritage had no ejections and nothing but positive interactions in all sports last school year.

Said Heritage Athletic Director, Tim Burton, “Heritage is constantly complimented on the conduct of our student athletes. We also did service projects. For example, the volleyball team went to the food bank.”

Another component in winning the award is leadership. Mr. Burton commended head football coach, Nico Tigulis, for his efforts in encouraging leadership among student-athletes at Heritage. Tigulis heads a monthly leadership group for students that focuses on the importance of leadership and how to lead.

Student-athletes, Lane Zellers, Devin Schmenk, Walter Knapke, Grace Biggins, Jason Holliness-Bell, Cameron Mitchell, Derek Schaadt, Alivia Beard, Parker Tracey, Abby Sheehan, and Alec Burton gathered after school on Nov. 20 to celebrate the school’s receiving of the award.


Ortho Express Walk-in Clinic

Learn more about same-day orthopedic and sports injury care at SportsONE / Parkview Fieldhouse. Learn More

PSM Performance Edge Program

Personalized training to help take your game to the next level. Learn more.
Get Started