Eight seniors awarded annual Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarships among 66 outstanding nominees

June 14, 2022

albright gemlick winners 2022

Graduating seniors from across Northeast Indiana and Northwest Ohio were honored June 14 with the 2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarships. Eight winners were selected for their academic excellence, athletic achievement and community contributions. Winners receive a $8,000/4-year scholarship made possible by Parkview Foundation.

The Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarships have been awarded since 2003-04, and bear the names of two late SportONE physicians: Dr. James E. Albright, who passed away in 1993; and Dr. Brett F. Gemlick, who passed away in October 2019.

Student-athletes were nominated by the Parkview Sports Medicine athletic trainer assigned to their schools or club sports organization, or by PSM Performance specialists who train them. Eligible student-athletes must participate in one sport their senior year and hold a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale (or 9.0 on a 12.0 scale).

In all, 66 nominees represent 29 different area high schools, four area club sports organizations and PSM Performance at this year's ceremony.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Jaiden Eastom of Snider High School

Jaiden Eastom competed in basketball, track & field and cross country at Snider High School. She was valedictorian of the Class of 2022 with a 5.02 GPA—the highest GPA in Snider history. She is a member of a many clubs at Snider and volunteers with several organizations outside of school, as well. Jaiden will attend Purdue University and major in biochemistry. She plans to become a physician.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Korban Study of Blackhawk Christian School

Korban Study graduated from Blackhawk Christian School with a 3.8 GPA. He played baseball and basketball Braves. Korban also served as student body president. Outside of school, Korban volunteers for Safe Families For Children, an organization which assists single moms and their families in the community. Korban will attend Purdue University Fort Wayne and major in biology with a concentration in pre-med.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Ashton Widenhoefer of Woodlan High School

Ashton Widenhoefer played volleyball and basketball at Woodlan High School.  She graduated as the salutatorian of the Class of 2022 with a 4.3 GPA; earning Principal Scholar and Rising Star of Indiana academic honors. Ashton was involved with the Woodlan Athletic Leadership Council, National Honor Society, yearbook committee, prom committee. She also served as Class Officer and a mentor for Woodlan’s Unified Sports programs. She played club volleyball at Empowered Volleyball Academy. While in high school, she interned with outpatient physical therapy at Parkview Hospital Randallia. Ashton will attend the University of Toledo and study biology. She wishes to become a physician assistant.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Alexandra German of Prairie Heights High School

Alexandra German ran track and played basketball at Prairie Heights Heigh School. She graduated with a 4.0 GPA, earning Academic All-State Honors. Alex served as vice president of student government, was a member of the Leo Club, volunteered with Boomerang Backpacks for kids in need and was inducted into the International Thespian Society through her love for drama. She also helps with the Kendallville Apple Festival and the Prairie Heights Heritage Festival. Alex will attend Trine University and plans to study engineering. She will also run track for the Thunder.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Skyelar Kessler of Eastside High School

Skyelar Kessler played softball, basketball and volleyball at Eastside High School. She won the 2022 IHSAA 2A Softball State Championship this spring and was named 2A Mental Attitude Award winner. She graduated with a 3.99 GPA, placing in the Top 10 of the Blazer senior class. She is also involved with National Honor Society, Amnesty International, the Eastside Senior Council, Eastside Role Model Program and the Interact Club. Skye will attend Indiana University and plans to study biology.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Kerrin Towers of Edon High School

Kerrin Towers competed in basketball, volleyball and track & field at Edon High School. She won the Captains and Bomber awards during her four years of high school. She earned a 3.86 GPA and is a Buckeye Border Conference Scholar Athlete and member of National Honor Society. She served as reporter for Edon’s FFA, sits on the Williams County 4H Fair board, and volunteers with the Veterans Breakfast. Kerrin is heading to Bowling Green State University, where she will study early childhood education.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: AnnaBella Brown of Canterbury High School & PSM Performance

AnnaBella Brown played soccer and ran track at Canerbury High School, where she graduated with a 4.2 GPA. AnnaBella also played club soccer at Fort Wayne Sport Club. She has been doing PSM Performance training with her team at Sport Club as well as individualized Edge performance training. Outside of school, AnnaBella serves on the Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council, is a page in the Indiana General Assembly and has held several pageant titles through the Miss America Organization. AnnaBella also was presented the Presidental Volunteer Service Award for starting the Comfort Cases initiative in Northeast Indiana—a program that provides backpacks full of items for children in the foster care system. AnnaBella will attend Purdue University to study bioengineering.

2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Winner: Luke Krouse of Antwerp High School (Carter Fleck Memorial Scholarship)

Each year, Parkview Sports Medicine awards the Carter Fleck Memorial Scholarship as part of the Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarships. The award is named for Carter Fleck, a 17-year-old Homestead High School who died of cancer in 2016; and goes to a student-athlete who demonstrates exceptional character. The 7th annual Carter Fleck Memorial Scholarship goes to Luke Krouse of Antwerp High School.

Luke is an accomplished baseball player and basketball player from Antwerp High School, earning All-Green Meadows Conference, All-District and All-State honors during his high school athletic career. He graduated with a 3.75 GPA, and was member of the National Honor Society. Luke served as student council president for the Class of 2022 all four years. He also helps with the grounds crew in the school’s maitenence department. Luke will attend Bowling Green State University to study education. He signed his national letter of intent with the Falcons baseball program.

albright gemlick


2022 Albright Gemlick Excellence Scholarship Nominees



Ortho Express Walk-in Clinic

Learn more about same-day orthopedic and sports injury care at SportsONE / Parkview Fieldhouse. Learn More

PSM Performance Edge Program

Personalized training to help take your game to the next level. Learn more.
Get Started