Parkview Health Logo

The PHIL Award for Outstanding Respiratory Therapists


PHIL Award logo

The PHIL Award (Pulmonary Health and Illnesses of the Lungs) was established by The FACES Foundation to recognize outstanding respiratory therapists who provide care and treatment to patients with respiratory illnesses. Sharman Lamka established The PHIL Award as part of The FACES Foundation after her husband, Philip C. Lamka, passed away from Interstitial Lung Disease. Sharman wanted to establish a way of acknowledging the valuable role that respiratory therapists play in the lives of patients with life-threatening pulmonary illnesses. The PHIL Award honors the ‘unsung heroes’ in the respiratory therapy profession who understand that each breath matters. Parkview Health takes pride in implementing The PHIL Award program to honor respiratory therapists.

About the FACES Foundation

The FACES Foundation was founded in 2006 to acknowledge and promote professional excellence in the education and care of patients with life-threatening pulmonary illnesses. The FACES Foundation is dedicated to educating professionals, patients, and families on issues relevant to lung disease

How will recipients be recognized?

The PHIL Award recipients are presented with a certificate of recognition and the Appreciation sculpture, adapted by artist MK Shannon specifically for The FACES Foundation. The sculpture represents the appreciation patients and their family members have for respiratory therapists that work hard to help them breathe easier. Along with the sculpture, information about the recipient and why they were selected is displayed at Parkview Health.

Nominating a respiratory therapist

The PHIL Award will be given annually in December to one respiratory therapist who has been nominated on the basis of professional excellence and compassion in the education and care of patients with pulmonary illness.

Respiratory therapists may be nominated for the award by patients and their family members, visitors, and other caregivers.

Nomination forms submitted before November 15 will be considered for the current year’s award process. Nomination forms submitted after November 15 will be considered for the next year's award process.