Healthcare Scholarships


Through the generosity of our donors, the Parkview Foundations are able to assist Parkview Health in transforming lives, changing communities, and providing hope. One way in which lives are transformed is when we are able to offer scholarships to Parkview co-workers and area students who are pursuing their nursing degrees or EMT certifications.

  • Albright Gemlick Scholarship – Beginning in 2003, the Albright Gemlick Scholarship has honored remarkable senior high school student athletes. Dr. James E. Albright was a driving force behind the establishment of the SportONE Athletic Training program in 1990. He was committed to the safety and care of student athletes, serving as a team physician for several local high schools and colleges. Dr. Brett F. Gemlick continued Dr. Albright's commitment to serving area athletic teams throughout his time as an orthopedic surgeon in Northeast Indiana. The Albright Gemlick Scholarship nominees are chosen by their athletic trainers with applications being accepted annually January through February.

  • Florence L.M. Rolland Nursing Scholarship – Mrs. Rolland was a Registered Nurse and dedicated her life to supporting patients, their families, and her co-workers. In her many years as a volunteer at Parkview Hospital in Fort Wayne, Mrs. Rolland completed more than 50,000 hours of volunteer service. Her commitment to providing compassionate care continued even after her death in October of 2005, as it was her wish to help worthy students in their preparation for the career she valued so much. This scholarship is open to high school seniors who reside in Allen, Dekalb, Noble, Whitley or Huntington County and are entering a school of nursing at either the University of Saint Francis or IU School of Nursing Fort Wayne. Potential applicants should contact their high school guidance counselors for more information. This scholarship is offered once every four years with the next application being available Spring of 2023.

  • Darlene J. Tielker Memorial Scholarship – Darlene was born and raised in Fort Wayne, Indiana. She decided on a nursing career very early on and began her work as a nurse while putting her husband through college and then medical school. Darlene embodied the word “nurse” throughout her life in the care and compassion she showed to her family, friends, patients, and all others she touched. This scholarship is open to all eligible Parkview co-workers who are pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Nursing.

  • Sue Johnson Nursing Scholarship – Before her retirement from Parkview Health, Sue Johnson served as the Director of Nursing Clinical Excellence & Research. Sue has a passion for education and believes in the power of generosity. Her gift to the Parkview Foundation established the Sue Johnson Nursing Scholarship and is open to all eligible Parkview co-workers who are pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Nursing.

  • Cathy E. Harris Good Samaritan Scholarship – The Cathy E. Harris Good Samaritan Scholarship was established in honor of Cathy Harris, former Director of Parkview Samaritan. Before her retirement in 2013, Cathy devoted 24 years of service to Parkview’s Flight and Trauma program. Cathy played a key role in the growth, development, and vision of what the program is today. This scholarship is open to all eligible Parkview co-workers who are pursuing their Basic EMT, Advanced EMT or Paramedic certification.

  • Jill Dreyer Nursing Scholarship – The Jill Dreyer Scholarship was established in 2004 in memory of the late Jill Dreyer by those who had worked with her while she was a registered nurse at Parkview Huntington Hospital. All eligible Parkview Huntington Hospital employees who are pursuing a nursing education are eligible for this scholarship.

  • Karen Denney Nursing Scholarship – Karen Denney was a caring and compassionate nurse, who dedicated her 35-year career to patients at McCray Hospital and Parkview Noble Hospital. During her career, Karen was the manager of the OB department for over 25 years, an infection control and employee health nurse, and worked in a number of other departments. She was an inspiration to many who worked with her, demonstrating an uncommon love for nursing and the patients she treated. The Denney Scholarship is open to high school seniors who are currently participating in the Health Occupations Education program at Parkview Noble and Parkview LaGrange Hospitals. Applications are accepted yearly January through February.

  • Shirley Traster Nursing Scholarship – Shirley Traster graduated from Fort Wayne Methodist School of Nursing in 1950. She was employed at McCray Memorial Hospital as a registered nurse for 36 years, before retiring in 1986. Shirley was highly regarded for her compassion, wisdom, humility and humor. She demonstrated her love of caring, compassionate nursing throughout her entire life, often mentoring or teaching younger nurses through her example and experiences. This scholarship is open to co-workers at Parkview Noble Hospital and Parkview Regional Medical Center who are enrolled in a certificate or degree program to advance their nursing career.

  • Parkview Noble Foundation Professional Nursing Development Grant – The Parkview Noble Professional Nursing Development Grant was established by the Parkview Noble nursing leadership team in 2018 to promote nurse development through membership in professional organizations. This grant is made possible by the generous gifts from co-worker and community members to the Parkview Noble Foundation’s Nursing Education Fund. Parkview Noble Hospital co-workers who wish to advance their career through membership in a professional nursing organization are eligible to apply.

  • Leon J. Ribley Scholarship – The Leon J. Ribley Scholarship is available as a result of a gift from former hospital board of trustee Leon J. Ribley. The scholarship is available to Parkview Wabash Hospital co-workers, and their dependents who are attending or have been accepted into a post high school program related to a healthcare field.

  • Bev Goss Nursing Scholarship – Available to co-workers at Parkview Whitley Hospital.

  • Parkview School of Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship Fund – The Parkview School of Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship Fund was created by alumnae of the Parkview School of Nursing for the purpose of encouraging and supporting nursing students. Applicants must be a current Parkview Health employee and currently enrolled in an accredited BSN or MSN nursing program in the state of Indiana.

  • Parkview LaGrange Hospital Scholarship – The Parkview LaGrange Hospital Scholarship was established upon the recommendation of hospital volunteers as a way to give back to the community with the funds raised from the hospital’s gift shop. The yearly scholarship is available to LaGrange County residents seeking a degree or licensure in a health-related field. Three high school senior scholarships are available as well as one adult scholarship. 

  • The Parkview Huntington Spirit of Service Scholarship – This scholarship was initially funded by a portion of a legacy gift from the Parkview Huntington Hospital Guild, which ceased operations in 2018. Scholarships have been awarded annually since 2019. The scholarship is sustained by proceeds from operation of the Parkview Huntington Hospital gift shop. Huntington County students pursuing post-secondary education in a healthcare-related field of study at any accredited institution of higher learning or technical training, as well as students residing outside of Huntington County who are enrolled at Huntington University, are eligible to apply.

Make a Donation

If you would like to aid the mission of the Parkview Foundations in transforming lives through education, you can make a donation to help fund any of these scholarship programs.

Donate Now